skip to main content
School of Journalism and New Media
University of Mississippi

Posts Tagged ‘best journalism programs’

Thank you for joining us for the School of Journalism and New Media’s birthday event

Posted on: August 26th, 2021 by ldrucker

Thank you for joining us on Thursday for the University of Mississippi School of Journalism and New Media’s birthday event.

This year, our school is celebrating its 75th Journalism and 10th IMC birthdays, and we hosted a welcome event Aug. 26 in front of Farley Hall.

Our Ambassadors helped organize the event that featured carnival games, prizes, a cornhole tournament, an involvement fair and CAKE!

If you missed the event, but you want to learn more about our journalism or integrated marketing communications (IMC) programs, email us at

We also encourage you to get involved with our student organizations on campus. And if you aren’t certain, but think you might be interested in journalism or IMC, take a class!

Professor Nancy Dupont receives prestigious Edward L. Bliss Award and the Larry Burkum Service Award

Posted on: August 7th, 2021 by ldrucker

Dr. Nancy Dupont, a University of Mississippi School of Journalism and New Media professor of journalism, made history last week, becoming the first person ever to win the Association for Education in Journalism and Mass Communication – Electronic News Division’s two most prestigious awards in the same year.

Dupont won the Edward L. Bliss Award for Distinguished Broadcast Journalism Education and the Larry Burkum Service Award.

She is the 38th recipient of the Edward L. Bliss award and is only the 5th woman ever to win.

The announcement of her win was made at the end of a recent Broadcast Education Association News Division meeting by awards chairs Hub Brown and Bill Silcock. Dr. Dupont was honored by the division at the annual AEJMC-END social (following the business meeting) on Aug. 5.

Congratulations to Dr. Nancy Dupont, first-ever person to win both the AEJMC Edward L. Bliss Award for Distinguished Broadcast Journalism Education and the Larry Burkham Service Awards in the same year.

The Edward L. Bliss Award for Distinguished Broadcast Journalism Education is presented annually by the AEJMC – END. The award recognizes an electronic journalism educator who has made significant and lasting contributions to the field.

The Larry Burkum Service Award recognizes an electronic journalist or journalism educator who has demonstrated extraordinary service to journalism and to journalism education.

Last week also marked Dupont’s last day as a faculty member for the School of Journalism and New Media.

“Her well-earned retirement begins now,” said UM Interim Dean Debora Wenger, “but her impact on our school, our discipline, and so very many students will remain for many, many years to come.”

Wenger has taught with Dupont at UM, but she also worked with her at WSOC-TV in Charlotte.

Dr. Nancy Dupont

Dr. Nancy Dupont

“For Nancy, the job has always been TV news,” Wenger said. “She has loved broadcast journalism since she first stepped foot into WDSU-TV in New Orleans as an intern in the 1970s.

“Even after she began teaching, she infused her love of the medium into hundreds and hundreds of students who now credit successful careers and even more glorious adventures to Nancy’s mentorship.”

Wenger said students always respond to teachers who have a passion for their subject, such as Dupont, whose first academic job involved coordinating a television teaching program for Loyola University-New Orleans.

“I can only imagine what those first 90 students thought of this vivacious woman, who is equal parts diva, dynamo and Southern belle,” said Wenger

Dupont took over the advising role for UM’s award-winning, student-run newscast and revolutionized the way the program was produced, Wenger said.

“From her countless years of service to the Electronic News Division and BEA, to the connections she has fostered for students in newsrooms across the country, Nancy has had an extraordinary impact on all of us who care about good journalism and good broadcast journalism in particular,” Wenger said.

“I know I speak for Nancy when I say that winning the Bliss and Burkum awards this year is a highlight of a career filled with success and achievement. She is a teacher’s teacher, a scholar’s scholar and a treasured friend to me and so many others.”

Here is a video link of the announcement of Dupont’s win a few months ago:

Dupont joined the UM School of Journalism and New Media in 2006 after spending 17 years as a broadcast journalist and 13 years as a journalism educator. She has served as chair of the Radio-Television Journalism division (now Electronic News) of the AEJMC. She has served twice as chair of the news division of the Broadcast Education Association. In 2019, she was elected to a two-year term to the Broadcast Education Association Board of Directors.

Dupont co-authored the book “Journalism of the Fallen Confederacy” in 2014. She has authored 12 book chapters. She frequently presents her research at the Symposium of 19th Century Journalism, the Civil War, and Free Expression and at the Transnational Journalism History conference. She has published extensively about 19th-century Mississippi and Louisiana newspapers.

Dupont earned a Ph.D. from the University of Southern Mississippi in 1997.