School of Journalism and New Media

The University of Mississippi

University of Mississippi journalism students win top awards at Associated Press competition

Posted on: April 20th, 2020 by ldrucker

Congratulations to our students who won the following awards in the annual college contest sponsored the Associated Press, for students attending universities in Mississippi and Louisiana, for content published/posted/aired in 2019. See the list below.




Best of Show Awards, which include a $250 prize:

DIGITAL: Daily Mississippian staff

TELEVISION: Matthew Hendley (shared with a student from Southeastern Louisiana University)

RADIO: DeAndria Turner (shared with a student at Southeastern Louisiana University)


First-Place Awards:

Newspaper General Excellence: The Daily Mississippian

Radio General Excellence: Rebel Radio WUMS-FM

Best Website: The Daily Mississippian

Newspaper Breaking News: The Daily Mississippian (chancellor coverage)

Spot News Photos: Billy Schuerman, TheDaily Mississippian

TV Reporter: Matthew Hendley

Radio News Story: DeAndria Turner

Radio Use of Sound: DeAndria Turner

Radio Feature Story: Hayden Wigg


Second-Place Awards: 

Newspaper Breaking News: The Daily Mississippian (coverage of protests/rallies/basketball team kneeling)

Radio Newscast: Rebel Radio

Sports Enterprise: Joshua Clayton, The Daily Mississippian

Sports Photo: Billy Schuerman, The Daily Mississippian

TV News Story: Skye Spiehler, NewsWatch Ole Miss

Multimedia Journalist: Devna Bose

Multimedia Package: Daily Mississippian staff

Radio News Story: Will Stribling

Radio Best Use of Sound: Will Stribling


Third-Place Awards:

TV Newscast: NewsWatch Ole Miss

TV News Story: Brittany Brown

Radio News Story: Will Stribling