School of Journalism and New Media

The University of Mississippi

UM student journalists win 21 awards in regional Associated Press college contest

Posted on: March 10th, 2020 by ldrucker

Please join us in congratulating our students who excelled in this year’s Associated Press contest for college students in Mississippi and Louisiana. AP picks three finalists in each category. Details about the awards will be announced in April.

Farley Hall. Photo by Clay Patrick.

The Daily Mississippian, Rebel Radio and NewsWatch Ole Miss are finalists in staff categories for overall best work. The finalists are, in the order announced by AP:

  • Joshua Clayton, sports enterprise writing, profile of Khadim ‘”Dream” Sy
  • Billy Schuerman, finalist in two categories: sports photography (volleyball) and spot news photography (homecoming king election)
  • The Daily Mississippian staff, finalist for breaking news, weekend of activism; finalist for breaking news, “IHL Picks Its Chancellor; Campus Protests”; finalist for newspaper General Excellence
  • Brittany Brown, TV news story,  neo-Confederate groups prompt reaction from alumni and students
  • Skye Spiehler, Lafayette County water system looking to solve big problems
  • NewsWatch Ole Miss, newscast
  • Matthew Hendley, TV reporter
  • Hayden Wiggs, radio feature story, therapy dog
  • Will Stribling, finalist in three categories: radio news story, Emmett Till memorial marker; radio news story, statue protest; use of sound
  • DeAndria Turner, finalist in two categories, radio news story (counter protest) and use of sound
  • Rebel Radio, finalist for newscast and finalist for general excellence
  •, website
  • The Daily Mississippian staff, multimedia package, Oxford/Ole Miss protests and activism
  • Devna Bose, multi-media journalist, emotional trauma of Hurricane Maria